The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

Destiny

I found it in a bunch of papers – it was a life purpose statement that I’d written over ten years ago. At the time I was working in IT for a major corporation, focusing on improving my technical skills and moving up the ladder. But my purpose statement told another story:

“Develop my voice to support myself and others in living up to our fullest potential.”

Now, years later, I’m surprised by what I’d written – not only is it exactly what I’d write today, but it reflects perfectly what I’m doing now. Amazingly, my life as a writer and Life Coach is absolutely aligned with that purpose statement I’d written over a decade ago.

One might assume that after writing the statement I’d started down the path to who I am today, that my energies were redirected by this new intention, but that wouldn’t be true. What really happened was, after designing that heartfelt little statement, I filed it away and went right back to chasing money and promotions. As a matter of fact, over the next ten years I pretty much ignored what I’d identified as my life purpose.

But, and here’s the magic of life, I made it to this place anyway. It’s as if my dream, my vision of who I wanted to be, was planted like a seed in a little garden in the back of my mind. Over the years the seed grew slowly and steadily as it was watered by my successes and fertilized by my failures. Then, when it was time for it to bloom, it did. There came a time in my life when following my life purpose was the only option that made sense to me.

There’s a voice in all of us telling us who we want to be, maybe even who we’re meant to be. Often what it tells us feels unattainable – we’re absorbed in making a living, taking care of our families, trying to win. And that’s ok. Because as long as we hear that voice, as long as we recognize that it reflects a special part of who we are, it will stay alive until the time is right.

***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

2 responses to “Destiny

  1. sophiashouse March 22, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Oh Melinda this post is so gorgeous. It really touched my heart. I’m going to go share it with others!
    Love,
    Tara

Leave a Reply

