The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

The Rat

There’s a rat in my attic. Or, more precisely, there’s a rat in the crawl space above my ceiling. It started one Saturday at midnight, I heard the rustle of little feet running across the ceiling of my bedroom. My cat and I sat up and looked at each other with startled eyes, what is it?

Yes, I think it’s a rat. And there are few things I hate more than rats. Give me spiders, bugs of any kind, raccoons, possums, I’m ok, but please, no rodents.

It’s been more than a week since the rat showed up, and so far I haven’t been able to keep it out of the house. I’m awakened promptly at 5:30 every morning to the sound of the rat’s morning run. Sometimes I hear it rustling in my living room walls and ceiling, I’ve heard the sound of metal, paper, plastic. I don’t know what’s in my walls, but whatever’s there the rat is enjoying it.

Sometimes I can block it out, sometimes I cry, sometimes I feel like I’ll never again wake up without hearing the sounds of the rat running around.

My problem with the rat feels huge, feels all encompassing, it feels tears-worthy. Each day I tell my friends what the rat is doing and how I’m coping.

It’s the worst thing in my life right now.

But when I take a step back it hits me – that’s the worst thing in my life? How lucky am I?

***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

7 responses to “The Rat

  1. Sharon January 7, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Melinda,
    Love your story and your writing style! I love the timely reminder to count our blessings and remember how lucky we are. ;)
    Sharon

  2. Trish Clifford January 7, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Melinda, I love this story and how you left it open-ended. Of course I want to know the resolution to the rat problem, but your learning from the situation (..”that’s the worst thing in my life? How lucky am I?”) is the gem. I think many people in modern society feel entitled to complete comfort and safety all the time. It’s good to to woken up sometimes – even by one of mother nature’s less charming creatures…

  3. Patty January 7, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Rats! I hate them but have a racoon family living under my deck. Like you I was peacefully relaxing on my deck when I heard things moving under the deck below me. Yes they drive me nuts and tearing up my lawn and fence line but at least they are only nasty creatures and I am not living where the noises I hear is gunfire or war! I am blessed in many ways.

    • Melinda January 7, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      I have racoons and hated them till I got rats. Then I started hoping that the racoons would maybe have a rat-snack and solve my problem for me. No luck yet.

  4. Marcia January 16, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Well, you could unplug your alarm clock now, saving some electricity (think “green”), thanks to your 5:30 wake-up call by the rats!
    On a more serious note, have enjoyed your blog so far. You certainly have a gift with writing. Please keep it going!

  5. Clyde Bradley January 26, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Dear Melinda,
    Sounds like it’s time for some De-con rat bait!I had a similar problem.The rat bait fixed it quick.It usually takes a few days for it to work.The poison is designed to dehydrate the rats so they will seek water and die outside your house,or else it would stink like a dead animal in your attic for a while.Go luck!Let me know if it works.
    Sincerely,
    Clyde

Leave a Reply

