The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

A Dreamer in a World of Thinkers

I’m a dreamer.  I live in my head.  I love ideas, theories, concepts.  I dwell in the intangible – I take pleasure in exploring the big unanswerable questions (why am I here?).  I pursue knowledge, insight, soul-deep awareness.  I immerse myself in what could be, I delight in the simmering potential available in the world.

Photo by h.koppdelaney via Flickr

In contrast, some of the people in my life are folks who love certainty, action, the here-and-now.  I see them struggle to understand me, to make sense of what I’m saying, and I love them for it.  As much as they don’t get me, as much as my quest for insight and awareness seems strange to them, they help me fill in my gaps with their sharp miss-nothing-remember-everything minds. 

They would never say it but I know that sometimes they think I’m silly – I see the looks exchanged.  And that’s ok, because in my world a thousand feet off the ground, I need their gravity.  And they might not know it but in their world of feet planted firmly, they need the lightness of my dreams.

***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

7 responses to “A Dreamer in a World of Thinkers

  1. Dawnika March 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Good point. Diversity is confusing but we certainly need it.

  2. Sharon March 9, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Beautifully written, Melinda! I enjoyed every word.

  3. Maryann March 11, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I love “getting” you!

  4. Brianna August 10, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Just what I needed to hear this morning. Thank you!

    90% of the time I am in my own little world :)

  5. Helene October 25, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Absolutely LOVED this post! :)

Leave a Reply

