The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

Looking Good

I forced myself to put last week’s post, Meany, on my blog.  I didn’t want to because, well, it makes me look mean.  Apparently, even though I spill my guts here on a weekly basis, I still have the desire to craft an image of myself as someone you’ll like.   And while I don’t mind discussing my insecurities or my barren love life, it appears that looking mean is where I draw the line. 

It’s difficult to resist, this desire to impress.  Even this post is hard to write, I find myself stopping and wondering if I’m telling too much – do I really want the world to know this about me?  Do I really want to spread word of my vanity into cyberspace?

I don’t want to but I will.  Because if I’m dishonest, if looking good becomes more important than telling the truth, then I become an imitation of myself, a fluffed and buffed glamour shot of the real Melinda.  And that artificial Melinda?  She doesn’t really have a lot to say.

 ***

 If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

4 responses to “Looking Good

  1. Sharon May 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Melinda, it takes guts to be honest, especially when it comes to talking about the less desirable parts of ourselves. Because you dare to look beneath the hood, you show the rest of us what courage and being true to yourself mean. Love it!

  2. Melinda May 11, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks Sharon :) As always, your support means the world to me!

  3. Walter May 13, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Cyberspace is full of fraud, but you can tell the genuine ones by their honesty. And by sharing yourself, you have been a true person even among strangers. :-)

Leave a Reply

