The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

Faking it

Sometimes the words just pour out, I’m on fire, nothing can stop me.  I pause, delighted, at the end of each paragraph – I can’t believe I wrote that!  In that moment I’m a writer, I know that writing is what I’m meant to do.  I want to share what I have to say with everyone, my work and my words seem to sparkle. 

Then there are days like today.  Where I feel dull and slow and it seems like every word I write contains a typo.  Criticism buzzes in my head – who am I to think that I can write?  What makes me think that people will want to read my words?  I feel foolish, like a fake.  Suddenly I pause… where have I heard those words before? I Google “I feel like a fake” and there are over 39,000,000 hits for that phrase.  I check out a couple of links, and find that there’s a name for how I’m feeling today, it’s called The Impostor Phenomenon. 

Ok.  So maybe everyone feels like this at times.  How to get past it?  I guess just do what I’m doing right now. Dive into it, feel it, roll around in it, suffer with it, be afraid, be mad and sad. 

Then just move on and get back to work.

***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

3 responses to “Faking it

  1. Dawnika June 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    That’s funny I googled a similar phrase the other day, so I can certainly relate to what you’re saying. It’s pretty neat how you can google anything and you’ll probably get some helpful information or at least just realize that you’re not alone.

  2. Eloiza September 14, 2010 at 9:13 am

    i love this post! thanks for sharing your process. your authenticity and vulnerability are inspiring. peace, eloiza

Leave a Reply

