The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

The Beauty of Your Voice

I think writing might be the first endeavor I’ve undertaken where I’m considered ok as I am. For most of my life, first as a student and then as an employee, I received a constant stream of corrections, packaged as report cards, performance reviews, and development plans.  They all said the same thing – we like you but here’s what you need to change…

In my new life as a writer, I find that to improve I don’t need to change, I need to do the opposite.  I need to become more of who I already am, to develop my “voice”, my unique way of expressing myself.  As writers, we’re taught that the more personality we infuse in our work, the greater the potential for success.

It was a delight to realize that I don’t have to alter who I am to write well, I just have to be the most me-like me possible.  And once I embraced that, once I learned to look internally for the words to express what I wanted to say, writing became pure pleasure.

I think it’s the same with life.  We each have our “voice”, our individual style, the characteristics that make us like no one else.  And when we fully inhabit that style, when we’re completely and utterly ourselves, our lives become both simpler and richer.  In leaving the struggle to look good we find we’re enough as we are.  We discover, mixed in with all those characteristics that we’ve worked so long to hide, a unique beauty that’s ours alone.

 ***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

6 responses to “The Beauty of Your Voice

  1. Beth August 24, 2010 at 10:38 am

    It is inspiring to read your posts and to follow your writing. How great that you have chosen to be a writer and to be more of who you are! Your honesty and openness speaks volumes to the many who are still finding their voice. Receiving your posts every week is a real gift! Thanks for putting yourself out there in cyerspace for all of us to see and know you in some small way.

  2. Meghashyam Chirravoori August 24, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Hi Melinda. What you wrote was short but it forced me to make the effort to comment. :) On my own blog, long ago I used to write a bit “formally”. I used to make sure what I wrote was “officially correct” and “made
    sense”.

    Then one day, I realized the freaking folly of it all.

    I started writing like “me”. “I” wrote. And I loved it, even when I apparantly made a fool of myself online…
    because it was me, finally.

    I remembered that when I read your post…

    Thank you for reminding. :)

    • Melinda August 24, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      Meghashyam,

      Thanks so much for your comments. I have a post rattling around in my inventory about how when I started I had a bunch of rules about my blog, posts had to be this long, they had to be organized around a framework, etc. And how easy and fun it became to write when I just let myself go and just do what feels right in the moment.

      Sounds like it’s more common than I think!

      Melinda

  3. Mo Alameida August 26, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Melinda, You have always amazed me and managed to lift up my day. I just got home and decided to log onto FB and there is what you wrote and it rings so true.

    We all have to be who we are in what we do.

    Thanks for always sharing the very obvious that most of us seem to forget during our daily routines.

Leave a Reply

