The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

Creativity – It’s All About Where You Look for It

I used to struggle to be creative.  I’d tack big pieces of paper to my wall and stand there with a jar of colored pens and wait for brilliance to strike.  If I stood there long enough I’d actually end up scribbling something.  It would then sit there sadly, a few vague, random markings, and eventually end up in the trash.  I envied those people who had idea books stuffed with articles, pictures, and drawings; I wanted so badly to be like those folks who create colorful and inspirational collages to hang on their walls. 

But now I find myself more creative than I’ve ever been in my life.  No, I didn’t conquer the paper and colored pens, and I still can’t maintain interest long enough to finish a collage.  But I’ve filled one notebook and started on a second one full of writing ideas. 

How did I do it?  It was simple.  First I let go of all those preconceived ideas of what creativity should look like. 

Then I found something I love to do and just played, and played and played. 

And then…I played some more.

***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

6 responses to “Creativity – It’s All About Where You Look for It

  1. Beth November 2, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Melinda – This so true! I found when I just let myself be creative in whatever form it takes the energy flows in so many different ways. So many of us are finding our creative groove so to speak and how great is that! My creative energy came to a complete hault when I started thinking about writing or painting as a means to earn an income. The focus completely changed. Suddenly I felt pressure to produce and my inner perfectionist wanted more from it …. wanted it to look or be a certain way. When I finally realized that is what was happening I started creating simply as a form of self-expression….to keep the energy flowing. I happily share what I create with others without any expectation of how it is received. Only that my creative process is honoured and respected as being uniquely individual to me. If it touches the heart of someone else then bonus because ultimately we are all in this together. Of course, this energy could take me to a new career but that is not why I create. It is to bring love, understanding, compassion and beauty into this world. Defining what it means to be creative is often the first hurdle to overcome as you so beautifully illustrated. Anything can be a creative process the intention behind it is what makes the difference. As always I enjoy how you are using your creativity in your writing.

  2. Melinda November 2, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Thanks for your comments, Beth! I agree, whenever I “have” to write something it’s much more difficult.

    YOU are a wonderful writer, your comments could be blog posts themselves!!

    Take care,

    Melinda

  3. Beth November 2, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks Melinda – I am thinking about writing a blog but then I have so much fun interacting with all the other bloggers out there :). Maybe I can do both LOL! Cheers, Beth

  4. Caroline November 16, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Melinda, that is exactly it! I write, and paint and for BOTH the joy and productivity lies in letting go of what it’s supposed to be and letting it be what I enjoy doing.

Leave a Reply

