The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

Step Out of the Struggle

There’s been a patch of linoleum in the corner of my bathroom floor that’s been dark and discolored for at least five years.   The floor isn’t that old but apparently water leaked under the flooring.  I cover it with a rug and hope guests don’t peek. In addition to the floor, the varnish on my vanity has started to peel.  Again, it’s only a few years old, but it needs refinishing. 

So, my bathroom (the only one in my 1920’s cottage) is kind of nasty.  I love my house – I’m a nester so it’s important to me.   

A collection of cans of paint and other relate...

Image via Wikipedia

Every time I go to the hardware store I look at tiles for the floor and any weekend I’m not busy I plan to paint my cabinet.  But time goes by and my bathroom remains in the same shabby condition.  

Why doesn’t anything get done? 

It all just seems too hard.  You see, I figure I should paint the cabinet before I replace the floor, but that’s a big hassle, and I’d really like to paint the walls (which should I paint first?  Where can I find a painter?).  And I’d need to sand the cabinet first, then get some oil based paint (which I hate using), then take out the drawers, empty them, sand them…

In other words I get distracted by the struggle.  Even though it’s all pretty easy, it’s not simple, there are a lot of steps and I get lost in how complicated it will be to orchestrate.  Which is really pretty funny, because I’m a great planner.  Even now I can see the list shape up in front of me, step by step, and I can envision myself checking off those boxes as my bathroom becomes beautiful.  

But the struggle is about more than the sum of the steps, it’s bigger than a need to get organized.  It’s a zone we can enter when we want something to be easier than it is.  When I remodeled my kitchen I had no problem diving in, creating floor plans, picking out cabinets – doing much more work than what it will take to fix up my bathroom.  I knew it would be hard, and it was.  But I worked each day until it was done.  However my bathroom feels different.  Maybe it’s because it’s small, but it doesn’t seem to deserve all that effort.

As I write this post I feel my energy start to perk up.  Because I’ve known all along what the solution is.  I just need to start.  To figure out the first step, second step and third step and so on. And then stop dithering and just jump in. 

So excuse me while I get started. 

Wasn’t there something you’ve been putting off, too?

 ***

If you enjoyed this post you might also like:

6 responses to “Step Out of the Struggle

  1. Raj November 9, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Some things I never put off. Like…
    Reading your latest blog.
    Some things I need to do right now… but will put them off…
    after I browse more of your blogs and comments!
    Are you sure you are helping? lol

  2. Beth November 10, 2010 at 7:02 am

    I have been living with a towel bar loosely hanging from the wall for months now. I finally took it down the other day and discovered there were no plugs in the wall. I want to replace it with a longer towel bar so I must fill the holes, paint the patch left from the old bar and buy a new one. Now I am thinking I might as well paint the whole bathroom while I at it since the ceiling is peeling. So that means repairing the plaster behind the toilet where it is meets the baseboard…..it all started with a loose towel bar! Isn’t that so much of what life is like one thing gets our attention and before we know it we are on our way to something much bigger and ultimately much more satisfying……Thanks for the nudge and reminder that getting started is all we really have to do…….happy painting!

    • Melinda November 14, 2010 at 5:40 pm

      Lol, Beth, isn’t it crazy what we can get used to? I get so used to living with yucky spots that I don’t even see them anymore. But how fun it is when it’s all cleaned up and finsihed!

      Melinda

  3. Roberta November 14, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I love your blog! I can relate to everything you said when it comes to a project. I can relate to the holidays too. I too have difficulty with siblings around the holidays. They remind me of the way things use to be not as they are.

    • Melinda November 14, 2010 at 5:38 pm

      Hi Roberta,

      Thanks so much for your comments! I think holidays are hard for everyone, for one reason or another. But how lucky we are that we have good memories to think back on!

      Melinda

Leave a Reply

