The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

A Fresh Start

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”    –Ralph Waldo Emerson

When I found myself in the wilderness of my post-corporate life this quote by Emerson always brought me back to center.  His words soothed my soul after edgy days of Life Coach training and disastrous sample sessions.

I love the implied “of course” when he says “Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in.”  It carries the assumption that of course we’ve made mistakes, of course we’ve embarrassed ourselves – it’s all part of a normal day. 

I propose that we use this quote to start 2011 and open up our lives to the blunders and absurdities that pop up when we’re learning, living and growing.  So forgive me, Mr. Emerson, for taking liberties with your words…

Finish this year and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow brings a new year; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

Happy New Year!

***

Ready to set some New Years Resolutions?  Celebrate 2010 and set your intentions for 2011 with my 2010 Annual Report

10 responses to “A Fresh Start

  1. Marcus Sheridan, The Sales Lion December 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Melinda, I’ve read a few posts today but this one I think will stick with me the most. Loved Emerson’s words, and then loved how you changed the tune just a little to fit the day.

    Have a wonderful 2011. :-)

  2. Raj ma Taj December 31, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Hi Mindy!

    Thank you for the reminder to be myself in the coming year.

    It is not that others think the best of me that matters most at the end, but that I have thought the best of others.

    So, I start this year believing that there will be sunlight on your path, favorable winds at your back, and an easy climb ahead.

    I look forward to sharing thoughts with you, and growing in friendship.

    Have a wonderful year!

    Love,
    Raj

  3. Debbie December 31, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks, M, for a thoughtful guide to ending this year and beginning another.

    • Melinda January 1, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Thank YOU Deb for all your support over the past year. I love what you’re doing with your retirement – you life seems to be rich in adventure, exploration and fun. Keep it up and have a terrific 2011!!

      Love,

      Mindy

  4. Marcia December 31, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Thanks to both Melinda and Raj for providing me with such inspiring words as we enter 2011. Happy, healthy new year!!

    • Melinda January 1, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Marcia! I feel so connected to you that it’s amazing we haven’t seen each other in what – 30 years?? Thanks for being part of my journey in 2010, and I wish the very best for you, Gary and Steven in 2011!!

      <3 Mindy

  5. Christina Crowe January 2, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Wow, Melinda. I like what you did with the second quote. A new year is upon us. We must forget our old mistakes and start anew. We can’t move on and make improvements if we’re so caught up in the past.

    Thanks, Melinda, for the inspiration. Nicely written!

    Christina

    • Melinda January 3, 2011 at 10:06 am

      Thanks, Christina! And I agree, we can’t dwell on the past if we want ot move forward. And we can’t be afraid of making mistakes if we want to try new things!!

      Have a great new year,

      Melinda

Leave a Reply

