The Easy Place

The Quest for Self Awareness One Moment at a Time

The End

Creating The Easy Place has been one of the best experiences of my life.   I’ve loved every bit of it, designing the blog, developing my writing skills, and, yes, I’ve even loved all that sharing.  It’s been amazing to expose my tender little places and discover that the world doesn’t end, that those feelings that felt so heavy were, truly, very little after all.  

What I’ve loved most of all is knowing that in some small way I’ve touched a few of you out there, that, as I’ve scrutinized and shared my “stuff,”  I’ve helped you explore your “stuff.”

It’s all been pure pleasure – every subscription, every comment, every connection with friends new and old – every visit you made to my blog was like a warm hug on a frosty day.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do next, but I do know that it’s time to move on and try something new.  But I didn’t want to leave without thanking you for your support and friendship, for your words of wisdom, and for your willingness to accept what I had to give.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Melinda

15 responses to “The End

  1. Beth March 18, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Hi Melinda, I have no doubt you will continue to touch many lives as you continue on your journey. May you always be in the right place at the right time for the right reasons. Remembering everything you have shared and are continuing to live will be the greatest gift of you that can be offered. I wish you well and much peace, joy and laughter in your encounters with life and the adventures ahead. It has been a pleasure connecting with you and your readers.

    Farewell,
    Beth

  2. Raj March 18, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Dear Melinda,

    It is with deep personal regret that we inform you that we cannot accept your resignation. Please try again later or tomorrow.

    There is still “stuff” in our lives.
    We still need to learn how to share.

    Mindy… we need you.

    We need you in our minds.
    We need you in our thoughts.
    We need you in our lives.
    We need you in our hearts.

    I realize this is a terrible burden for you, and having considered it further, I propose one condition that may allow your decision. That is, that you promise that we will always be friends. That we will always carry each other in our hearts. That we will always provide encouragement, support, and love, no matter what the cost, just as you have shown us to do.

    See, everyone who has ever read anything you have written has become a different person. A better person, one with more wholeness and healing in their life. That will never end. You can never change that. The good work you have started will continue in every decision, motive, thought, and every act.

    The tears at the thought of your leaving are not of sadness, but of remembrance. Like fresh water to thirsty souls, your love has always quenched those quiet places in our lives that need stirring.

    Who will stir us now?

    I have not commented on all your posts. You may not have been aware of how they have moved me. But, I cannot leave this comment without rectifying that which was unsaid.

    Your writing is beautiful. Your openness was a fresh, intimate delight. Your sharing touched deep where few others tread. I will miss this blog all the days that I live. Thank you for the gift of your self. It was too great.

    You are loved.

    Raj

    • Melinda March 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

      Wow – you brought tears to my eyes, Raj. I’m so glad that we’ve become friends, and your participation in my blogging was energizing and fun.

      Thanks for your support and for being such a great cousin!

      Mindy

  3. Debbie March 18, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    M, so sorry to lose this forum for hearing your thoughts. Glad that other opportunities remain! Thanks for trying it, and for doing it.

  4. Marcia March 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Ah Mindy, maintaining a blog is not easy, but this is sad news for those of us who read the thoughts that you shared so openly. But, it is wonderful news that you are planning to move forward onto something else. You have such a gift with words. Your writing is beautiful, always saying just the right thing in the right way. I hope that your future endeavors include writing.
    All the best,
    Marcia

    • Melinda March 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

      Marcia – What a pleasure it’s been to reconnect with you! Who would have thought all those years ago that we’d become friends again over the internet!

      I really loved this blog, and didn’t stop because it was too much work. It just seemed that I’d said what I have to say about this part of my life.

      Lets keep in touch and take care of yourself! These must be such crazy times for you, hang in there.

      Mindy

  5. Jim March 18, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    I am so sorry to hear that you wont be writing these any more. I am one of the many who religiously look forward to reading your post each week. I have been through numerous trials over the past little while. A layoff, isolation due to a move to a strange new location, starting a new job only to find out my boss was abusive, quitting and driving across country only to be caught in a rockslide, separatiion from my wife and children, and the list goes on — all in the last year. One of the few activities that gave me strength and courage was reading your blog. Now what will I and everyone else do? THANK YOU for all your time in writing these each week. You have been more helpful than you will ever realize.

    • Melinda March 20, 2011 at 9:33 am

      Jim – thanks so much for your kind words. Sounds like you’ve been going through some big stuff in your life, I’m so glad that my blog helped you. I actually have another blog: http://infjcoach.wordpress.com/ . I haven’t tried to transition readers of The Easy Place to it because it’s quite different, but you might want to see if it’s helpful for you.

      Take care of yourself and thank you for your readership.

      Melinda

  6. Robbie March 20, 2011 at 7:23 am

    I’m sorry to hear you are giving up your blog. I feel that I have just gotten started but I respect that you know that you need to move on to new things. Your vacation gave you some reflection good for you for having the courage to continue on the journey. Good Luck what ever you choose. I’m dabbling in different art media and that has taken courage to try and not worry about failing. Thanks for your blog. I know it helped me to read about your deepest thoughts and ideas.

    • Melinda March 20, 2011 at 9:40 am

      Robbie – Thank you so much, I love hearing that what I’ve written has been helpful to you. And when you think of failure, think about this blog. Some people will think of it as a failure – they’ll think that I gave up. But it was just one of the things I thought I might like and so I tried it. And I loved it. And now it feels finished and I want to do something new. So keep dabbling and when you find that something doesn’t work, or doesn’t work anymore, try something new! It’s all learning, it’s all good!

      Be bold and brave!

      Melinda

  7. Sarah April 11, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Kinda funny …..I got on to send you site to a friend who I thought could relate only to see your time was to move on, I hope all is well and that we can connect more , your awesome.What in a life can be sparked by a tiny flicker. Let me know what your up to.

    SARAH MILLER

Leave a Reply

